The Shortcut Is The Short Life

The Shortcut Is The Short Life

Ecclesiastes 7:17 “Don’t be excessively wicked, and don’t be foolish. Why should you die before your time?”

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

I heard a sister in Christ say her grandmother used to say, “The shortcut is the short life.” That stuck with me. Partly because I was meditating on this before hearing her say it. I pondered how people take shortcuts in life only to find disappointment 99% of the time. Then we blame others for why things don’t work out. Not being able to wait costs. Not being willing to do introspection to see where we are to determine where we’re going costs. Throwing enough mud on the wall and hoping something sticks costs. There’s no aim, no purpose. This is like chasing after the wind.

I know some hurting folks who live the shortcut life. One I’m thinking of particularly is always in trouble. She has resorted to other bad habits to feed her addictions. These are all shortcuts. My heart breaks for her. Yet there’s not much more I can do but pray for her. This may seem small but it’s a lot. Prayer is powerful. I love her from a distance because I have to. She’s my ex-wife. It’s not until she realizes shortcuts equal a short life that she will ever change. I hope this happens before it’s too late. I hope we all realize most shortcuts aren’t worth it.

Didn’t mean to get too sappy on you guys. Just writing what’s on my heart. I hope this helps someone else.

Please share this with a friend

Leave a comment